1 Amend 2 Cal. Code Regs. Section 18427.1:

3	(a) A candidate or committee that receives contributions cumulating \$5,000 or more in a
4	calendar year from any person shall, within two weeks of receiving such contributions, provide
5	notice to the contributor that the contributor may be required to file campaign reports. A
6	candidate or committee that receives contributions cumulating \$10,000 or more from any person
7	during any period in which late contribution reports are required to be filed pursuant to Section
8	84203 shall within one week of receiving such contribution, provide notice to the contributor that
9	the contributor may be required to file campaign reports.
10	(b) The notice (a) A notification to a contributor required by Section 84105 shall contain
11	the following language or substantially similar language as applicable:
12	(1) Major Donors: If your contribution(s) to this committee and to other California state
13	or local committees total(s) \$10,000 or more in a calendar year, California law requires you to
14	file a Major Donor Committee Campaign Statement (Form 461). The deadline and location for
15	filing this statement will depend upon the timing and type of contribution(s) you have made. For
16	additional information visit www.fppc.ca.gov and review the available campaign materials.
17	(2) Nonprofit Groups: If your organization is a nonprofit organization, it may qualify as a
18	major donor committee required to file Form 461 or as a recipient committee required to file the
19	Form 460 disclosing donors. Refer to Section 84222 and Regulation 18422 to determine your
20	filing requirements. For additional information visit www.fppc.ca.gov and review the available
21	campaign materials.
22	(3) 24-Hour Reports: Major donors, nonprofits and other multipurpose organizations that

trigger reporting obligations must also file a 24-hour contribution report if they make

Amend 18427.1

1

1	contributions totaling \$1,000 or more to a single candidate, any of the candidate's controlled
2	committees, or to a committee primarily formed to support or oppose a candidate or ballot
3	measure during the 90 days prior to the election, or on the date of the election, in which the
4	candidate or ballot measure is being voted on. The 24-hour reports are also required if they make
5	contributions totaling \$1,000 or more to state or county political party committees during the 90
6	days prior to a state election, or on the date of the election, including state special elections.
7	(4) Electronic Filing: State committees that make contributions of \$25,000 or more must
8	file electronically with the Secretary of State. State committees that are required to file the Form
9	Form 497 24-hour contribution report must file this form electronically even if the \$25,000
10	threshold has not yet been met. For more information on the electronic filing requirements,
11	contact the Secretary of State's office at (916) 653-6224. Local committees should contact the
12	local jurisdiction to determine if there are electronic filing requirements.
13	(5) Failure to file campaign statements may result in late filing penalties (\$10/day) and
14	fines (up to \$5,000/violation). For assistance with your filing obligations, contact the Fair
15	Political Practices Commission toll-free at (866) ASK-FPPC, send an email to
16	advice@fppc.ca.gov, or refer to their the Commission's website: www.fppc.ca.gov.
17	(e) (b) Candidates and treasurers shall maintain a record of all notices sent pursuant to
18	this section Section 84105 or this regulation, containing the date of each notice and the name and
19	address of the person to whom each notice is sent.
20	(d) (c) Notice to a contributor is not required by Section 84105 or this regulation if:
21	(1) A notice has previously been sent to the contributor pursuant to this section in the
22	same calendar year; or

Amend 18427.1

2

- 1 (2) The contributor has been issued a recipient committee <u>an</u> identification number by the
- 2 Secretary of State <u>pursuant to Section 84101</u>.
- 3 Note: Authority cited: Section 83112, Government Code. Reference: Sections 84101, 84105 and
- 4 84222, Government Code.